Announcements:

  • Mark’s office hours for Monday, Dec. 4 will not meet. Instead, he will have extra office hours on the previous Friday, Dec. 1. Each of his regular office hours on that Friday will be extended by one hour. So he’ll be available from 11 to 12:50 and from 3 to 4:50 on that date.
  • Here is a document that contains all the material from all of the slides from the latter half of the course (up through Nov. 30), presented in a more easily printable handout format. The usual password applies. This handout is now complete, covering all the material that could be covered on the exam.
  • See the Handout on Exam 2 telling you what material from the second part of the class you are responsible for knowing for the exam. This handout is now complete, covering all the material that could be covered on the exam.
  • Peter Smith’s web page for our text is at http://www.logicmatters.net/igt/. It includes some exercises and answers for the first eleven chapters of the text.
  • Mark’s Office Hours (CLA 163): M: 9–10:50a ; Tu: 4–4:50p; F: 11-11:50a & 3–3:50p; + by appt

Click for Current Week Click for Syllabus


Week 8

Tuesday, Oct. 17

Thursday, Oct. 19

Class canceled due to instructor illness.


Week 9

Tuesday, Oct. 24

Thursday, Oct. 26


Week 10

Tuesday, Oct. 31

Thursday, Nov. 2

  • Read IGT Ch. 10.

Week 11

Tuesday, Nov. 7

Thursday, Nov. 9


Week 12

Tuesday, Nov. 14

Thursday, Nov. 16


Week 13

Tuesday, Nov. 21

Thursday, Nov. 23

NO CLASS: Thanksgiving Break


Week 14

Tuesday, Nov. 28

Thursday, Nov. 30

  • Read IGT Ch. 24

Week 15

Tuesday, Dec. 5

  • No Class Meeting: Special Office Hours.

Thursday, Dec. 7

  • Review for Exam based on student questions!
  • Projects due by 5 p.m. tomorrow (December 8)

Final Exam Week
















* xkcd.com










Valid CSS!